Home Forums Work Your Office University Course Packets

This topic contains 10 replies, has 8 voices, and was last updated by  Irulan 8 years, 7 months ago.

• Author

nishnu

Hi Everyone!

I have a question for you. I graduated from my Master’s program last year and held onto university course packets (these aren’t books, they’re collection of papers and readings assembled by the teacher and sold in the university bookstore as coursework for class) thinking that I may use them someday. I am moving again and I realize that not one day has gone by when I missed those books. I am officially ready to get rid of them but don’t know how to !

Does anyone know if libraries accept these books ? I know that resale is not an option since its not a book as such. I don’t have the heart to simply throw it out.

Does anyone have any ideas ?

Nisha

Anonymous

University Course Packets

You might contact the professor and see if they are offering the course with the same materials. If so, they may appreciate a donation of copies that can be checked out to students. The library at that school may want the same.

High school teachers may appreciate the material as a way to supplement their own knowledge or as a resource for short clips of challenging material for their students.

Post to blogs in that discipline or Freecycle and offer the material. Someone out there may be looking for the very thing!

Now I am curious-what’s the topic? ๐Ÿ™‚

Ann

Nishnu – my husband also has problems tossing “knowledge” so we often have several editions of textbooks in his office. Not to mention the journals, which he is slowly getting rid of when he ascertains that they are available on the internet (the medical and physiology journals are slowly being added backwards…so a few more years and my garage will be clean!!).

lucy1965