Home Forums Welcome Hello! Spouse's clutter

Viewing 78 reply threads
  • Author
      gailbon

Hi All! I am a newbie here, so bear with me if I am posting a redundant topic. How do I get my spouse on board to declutter our home? I am pretty good at decluttering, and trying to get my husband to see the light. I do not want to throw his stuff out…..I want HIM to want to throw HIS stuff out. He has such sentimental attachment to his things, and always feels he “might need that”, if you know what I mean. Any suggestions? Thanks in advance!

Ella

Spouse's clutter

I can strongly recommend a new book by Dr. Robin Zasio titled “The Hoarder in You.” Don’t be put off by the title; the author covers the full spectrum of cluttering, from mild clutterbugs to extreme hoarders and absolutely everything in between.

The reason for my recommendation is her excellent section on how to live with a clutterer, how to get them on board, and most importantly, what NOT to say or do that could alienate them, damage trust, and make the situation far worse. This information is well presented in organized chapters and checklists. I think everyone could get something helpful out of this book. But don’t just hand it to your husband to read; YOU read it first.

Spouse's clutter

Good suggestion Ella. I’d add that it’s a process. I tend to go “all in” and want to do everything now, now, now and overwhelm my husband. Give him some time and space to experience what you’ve created on your own and see if he comes around.

sleepykitten

Spouse's clutter

This is *always* a relevant topic. I am more of a minimalist than my husband and it can cause a bit of tension, though my husband unclutters more now than he used to.

Here are some things that have helped:

1) Focus on uncluttering your stuff and talk about why you are doing it and the good feelings you have – without pressuring him AT ALL