Home Forums Work Office move = blank canvas, any tips for filing/organisation

This topic contains 9 replies, has 7 voices, and was last updated by  Claycat 8 years, 2 months ago.

• Author

Rostance

Hello everyone!

I’m a self-employed video designer and next week I’m moving into a new office. I can’t help but get excited about the potential for this to be a great blank-canvas to re-work my office organisation from the ground up. I am looking for ideas/inspiration for re-working a small, one-person business filing system so that I can keep finances, project management and physical paperwork under control.

Does anyone have any links or examples of how they organise their office or home office filing? How you categorize things and ideas for keeping paperwork/post/finance in tip-top system?

Obviously that may be a lot to ask, but I always enjoy looking the really organised files in the before/after pictures on here and getting an insight into how organised the files are inside would be great.

Thanks!

Neil

lottielot

Office move = blank canvas, any tips for filing/organisation

ooh, how exciting! I have absolutely no ideas though! Have you tried doing a search on here for threads about office organisation? I always have a sneaking suspicion when I see the workplace photos that they’re too tidy for any work to actually be done efficiently 🙂 It really depends what kind of paperwork you’ll be needing to store as well, I would keep it simple if possible and try to make everything in electronic format as much as possible too. Good luck!

Claycat

I’m such a disorganized person, I actually purchased a program that taught me how to create a filing system. I may have linked up to it on this site. I’m not sure. However, it’s great! I will see if I can find the link.

Claycat

Here it is, The Fast Filing Method. I have put it into practice, and it is working for me.

http://www.clearsimpleliving.com/athomeproducts