Home Forums Work Need suggestions for managing project work

This topic contains 5 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by  savink 8 years, 9 months ago.

• Author

savink

Hello everyone,

I am new to a position at my job where I am managing several projects at once. (Currently I am managing 8). I had systems in place in my old position for managing my day-to-day tasks, but these same systems are not working for keeping track of what needs to be done for my new position. As with any project, some tasks are on-going, some need to be completed in the near future, and some need to be finished farther out. I have tried using a separate notebook for each project, project-specific to-do sheets, a dry erase board…I can’t even color-code my flags in my inbox because I have more projects than colors! I feel like things are falling through the cracks…does anyone have suggestions as to how to better organize my tasks? Thanks in advance!

Betharu

Need suggestions for managing project work

I’ve actually started using a binder with a view cover for my monthly projects. I print out a calendar from Microsoft Outlook with important dates and slide it into the front cover so I have a quick look of what is coming up.
    I’m also a big believer in using colored paper to organize things. For example – my busy time is at the end of the year – I am doing year end financial projections, tax forms & returns, and corresponding with CPA’s and clients. For this info – I usually use a colored paper so that it sticks out on my desk from my daily work (which has to get done too!). This might work for you – ongoing work could be on regular white paper – immediate projects on a bright color light yellow or pink – further out on another color.