Home Forums Work Meetings Need advice for meetings.

This topic contains 7 replies, has 8 voices, and was last updated by  xarcady 7 years ago.

• Author

branchd77

Hi I work as a personal development coach. I attend meetings and help organize them as well. The problem I have is we ask a lot of open ended questions and sometimes my meetings can go on for hours over the target time. The discussions are good, but some people complain about the length. Any advice?

Personal Development 123

Need advice for meetings.

It’s the job of the meeting facilitator to keep it on track and within time. I would recommend:

(1) Set a start and an end time for the meeting and honor it.
    (2) Have an agenda. It is useful to have an estimated time for each issue/question. This can be negotiated during the meeting if circumstances warrant, but it keeps people on track. The agenda with the time budget will also give you a clue as to whether you have scheduled too much for the allotted time. In an hour-long session, for example, you can probably only handle 3 or 4 open-ended or controversial/lively questions.
    (3) Have a timekeeper — as Conny mentioned, there are different ways of doing this, but is is critical. It helps to make it a different person than the facilitator so that he/she can concentrate on the discussion and not the time.
    (4) Reel the conversation back in if it gets off-track or repetitive. It can help to intervene by summarizing the comments so far and asking if anyone has something new to offer.
    (5) If you have people who tend to dominate the discussion it is appropriate to gently cut them off: “We’ve already heard from you several times, John, but I’d like to hear what Joan has to say about this.”