Home Forums Technology How do YOU make sure social media sucks up all your attention bandwidth?

This topic contains 13 replies, has 10 voices, and was last updated by  Robin 7 years, 1 month ago.

• Author

Robin

Hi!

My interest is both professional and personal. Professionally, I’m a community manager for a startup in SF called Ming.ly. It’s a new service (in beta!) that gives users a better way to connect with contacts and conversations across social networks, without leaving the inbox.

The point of the application is that people are busy but you have to stay on top of your personal and professional relationships. We created Ming.ly so you can stay in touch without being stuck in the quagmire of endless social media updates.

Personally, I feel sometimes like social media channels use me, not the other way around! It can be exhausting but it can also be thrilling. I think I use it to procrastinate, to be honest.

What are the pitfalls you experience in having to stay across your social networks? What are you using to get around the noise? How do you know when you’ve struck a balance?

Many thanks,

Robin Ahn
    Mingly Community Manager

mili

How do YOU make sure social media sucks up all your attention bandwidth?

possibly others will weigh in, but in the meantime, you might want to check out the following threads where there’s been extensive, even exhaustive, discussion:

https://unclutterer.com/discuss/topic/media-fast-anyone
    https://unclutterer.com/discuss/topic/uncluttering-your-mind

the following thread discusses some of these issues too, but in a more peripheral way – check it out if you need more:
    https://unclutterer.com/discuss/topic/uncluttering-bad-habits

Overall, the whole ‘my online life is overwhelming me’ issue seems to be a big deal on this forum right now, so there should be plenty of replies.

Astreja
    Participant

In my opinion, the only way to win with social networks is not to play.