Home Forums Unclutter Your Life in One Week Your story Hello! Why did I buy the book?

This topic contains 7 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by  Nuria_P 7 years, 11 months ago.

• Author

Nuria_P

Hi! Every end of the year, my main resolution is to get organized and declutter my home (and my life) once and for all. I have been failing for the last 8 years, since my first son was born.
    I am an impacient person, and it is hard for me to persevere. I need to see immediate results, or I tend to give up. Also, I like to be told what i have to do step by step,so I dont have to think too much lol. I have tried all sort of methods in the past, and yesterday, surfing in Amazon, I found this book and I thought that dedicating 7 days (to start with) might help me as I would notice the change quite quickly. And as I am on my Christmas holidays, I decided to buy it. Today it’s been my day 1, althought sorting out clothing has taken all day!

Sometimez

Hello! Why did I buy the book?

Oh, Nuria, I wish for you patience, and I wish it for you right now! Sorting clothing is a good way to begin uncluttering. You can put aside items not suited for the season. If your clothes are out of date, or not worn any more because you like other things better, or the children’s clothes are outgrown, you know all those things can be passed along to others. Just as you can’t accomplish decluttering clothing once for all time and never have to do it again, so too you can’t declutter other things in the household once and never have to do it again. The more you practice deciding if something really is needed / used / loved in your house, the easier it becomes to do this review every so often (as your tastes and needs change). It may make it easier to not bring some things into the house in the first place, saving further effort on storing / displaying / discarding. Best wishes for building your decluttering habits!

jbeany