Home Forums Challenges CHALLENGE: Lehcarjt's Home Office

This topic contains 19 replies, has 12 voices, and was last updated by  Claycat 9 years, 5 months ago.

• Author

Lehcarjt

Per the discussion in the challenge thread, I’m setting up my own challenge thread. My area of focus–> My home office. Also per our discussion, I’m attaching a before picture. I can’t tell you how humiliating it is to show anyone this photo.

To explain, I’m a bookkeeper / mom by profession and do all my paid (and unpaid work actually) at home. Nine months ago we put an addition onto our house and my ‘office’ moved into it – actually it’s the back corner of our new larger family room. I didn’t have any furniture though (or flooring – note the plywood floor) and so just threw up a folding table and two old bookcases. Things have been going downhill ever since.
    http://picasaweb.google.com/rtaylortoys/HomeOfficeBefore#5419633486717215682

Note the lack of a computer on the desk. I end up trucking everything I need to the sofa so I can sit on the floor with my clingy baby. Besides, it ‘feels’ awful to work in this mess.

http://picasaweb.google.com/rtaylortoys/HomeOfficeBefore#5419633375786570498

I’ve got a plan for what I want to do. The ultimate finish date is February 15th. Step one is to purchase the desks from Ikea by January 2nd and set them up. I also need to have all my files turned over for the new year by January 10th at the latest. (Most of my plans for the new set-up come from the Uncluttered Office of the Week.

Wish me luck!

Claycat

CHALLENGE: Lehcarjt's Home Office

This is quite a challenge, Lehcarjt! I definitely believe it is doable! We will cheer you on!

I don’t know what you are going to do about flooring, but my suggestion is to use something that is low VOC.

charmed2482

before you do to much it might be a good idea to get the floor taken care of first then you don’t have to move everything out to do the floor later.

MsDasha