Home Forums Living Spaces Bathrooms Bathroom items

This topic contains 10 replies, has 9 voices, and was last updated by  snosie 8 years ago.

• Author

snosie

I’m posting here so I can find out what’s appropriate to ‘give away’ rather than ‘use up’ seeing using these items seems unlikely. I don’t like the unnecessarily waste!

I have a substantial number of sanitary products (tampons) that are loose (not in their origial box), but not tatty. I have one or two boxes worths. They aren’t something I’m likely to use. Can I freecycle them? What else could I do with them?

I also have hand/body creams. I seldom use these, and certainly not the number I have – there’s just no way! But if it’s not a full bottle what are my options?

STLMom

Bathroom items

You could ask a women’s shelter if they would take the tampons. Or put them in a plastic bag and drop them in a ladies’ room at a local college. Back when I was a poor college student, I would have loved to find a surprise like that!

Bathroom items

The advantage to freecycle is that if nobody wants them, no one responds. End of story. If someone wants them, they are gone.

Quite frankly, I’d feel uncomfortable using these products in opened boxes and containers from a stranger but would not have an issue receiving them from a friend.

Astreja
    Participant

Bathroom items

Snosie, I’d just ditch the open bottles of hand cream, particularly if they’re more than a couple of years old. Makeup and such does get old, and we regularly chuck open bottles of personal care stuff if it’s been there too long.

I did google “other uses for hand creams” and got some interesting alternate uses, including… shoe polish? De-static the cat? It might be interesting to try lotion as a leather conditioner on a small area of a boot or shoe, but I’m not prepared to risk my cats’ health… Or their wrath.

s

Bathroom items

I’ve brought open hand cream to the office ladies’ room. Good for sharing after washing hands.