Home Forums Technology Automatic Document Feed/Photo Scanner?

This topic contains 12 replies, has 11 voices, and was last updated by  sceyeexplorer 8 years, 1 month ago.

• Author

molsballou

The Unclutter praise for the Fujitsu ScanSnap has had me drooling for ages. But somehow, I can’t bite the bullet and buy this thing. My problem is that most of my paper clutter is not like that of a typical home office; they are photos, drawings and pages saved from magazines. (I am a graphic designer, and I hate to part with the things I find visually inspiring, but I’d rather save them digitally than physically.) So back to my question. From reviews I’ve read, the Fujitsu ScanSnap seems to be best for office papers rather than things that should be scanned at high resolution.

Has anyone tried the Epson Perfection V500 office scanner? (online here: http://www.epson.com/cgi-bin/Store/consumer/consDetail.jsp?oid=63084659 )
    From the product description it seems like the best of both worlds (Automatic Document Feeder/High resolution.) But is too good to be true?

patrickrhone

Automatic Document Feed/Photo Scanner?

I second the SnapScan (recently updated for 10.6) and the NeatDesk (the desktop software for which is an awesome organizational tool as well).

brw

@patrickrhone – I have the scansnap as well, and updated the 10.6 software, but the ABBYY Professional reader still isn’t updated.

Where did you get the NeatDesk software? Was it available as a stand alone?

v.bampton

I’ve got the v500 (already had it for photographic use, so picked up the ADF). It’s ok as an all-rounder, and good for photographs, but I’m still dreaming of a scansnap for scanning larger volumes of documents.

molsballou