Home Forums Welcome Hello! Old Textbooks?

This topic contains 26 replies, has 1 voice, and was last updated by Avatar of bookgator bookgator 2 years, 1 month ago.

• Author
    Ox

Does anyone have any suggestions on what to do with old textbooks?

I’m a compulsive hoarder that’s been working on my problem for 15 years. I’ve hung on to a lot of papers from high school and college and a lot of textbooks from college since I had to purchase them. I graduated from college 15 years ago in another state so the textbooks I have aren’t in use at any of the area colleges here and probably are no longer in use at all. They also have been written in extensively since, as a hoarder, I thought I’d keep them forever. I’m pretty sure the local used bookstores wouldn’t take them and they don’t even show up in swaptree’s database. Should I dump them on Goodwill or the library? Freecycle? Or should they just be thrown in the garbage? Specifically I’m wanting to part with textbooks from my French class, if that matters. Any suggestions are welcome.

Nithy

Old Textbooks?

I work at a library in a college town. We have a book sale twice a year, and we do get textbooks donated. I don’t know how well they sell, especially the old ones. Something to consider: The odds are good that nobody else really needs your 15-year-old textbooks, so if you do donate your books to Goodwill or the library, they may just be going into another hoarder’s collection.

loripax

Old Textbooks?

Most libraries have book sales of donated books once in a while to raise money, and (around here at least) many collage and other artists will scour them for older books to use in their art. While some may shudder at that idea, at least they’re being used for something other than filling up the landfill. Unless your library states that they don’t want textbooks older than XX years for their sale, donate them there, take the writeoff, and be done with it.