Home Forums Your Home Office Non-filing paper system?

This topic contains 22 replies, has 1 voice, and was last updated by Avatar of bandicoot bandicoot 2 years, 6 months ago.

• Author
    smallLife

I was hoping someone else had this same issue and a solution – or even theoretical solutions.

I’m not very good with filing folders, it’s just not how my brain works or stays organized (I’ve tried, but I find it a PITA to search for, or use paperwork). I prefer pocket folders such as those used for school or handed out by businesses.

I’m just starting out so don’t have a lot of paper as of yet, and do most of my bills online. While having a folder per bill/designated area (health, cat, home, taxes, etc) is working for the short term I have not yet had to encounter long term paper storage. Does anyone else use something besides the traditional filing cabinet/hanging folders to save their paperwork? If so, what has worked?

Ella

Non-filing paper system?

Some people swear by this simple system: they use a monthly or yearly file folder or box. They put in every paper as it comes in, chronologically so the most recent is on top.

I do a variation of this… my inbox is a chronological pile. Periodically, I file the stuff on the bottom, putting it into a traditional file cabinet system. Or by that point it’s clear that somethings can be tossed in the shredder.

Demerna

Non-filing paper system?

I keep all of my long-term paperwork (i.e. taxes, DD214, titles, insurance policies, etc…)in a 2″ binder each item in a plastic sheet sleeve and then organize by category. Anything that is not critical long-term paperwork (i.e. paystubs, bill receipts, etc…) I request online pdfs of or scan in and keep digital copies. I also have digital copies of all of my long-term paperwork just-in-case. This system has worked much better for us than a file cabinet did.

grey

Non-filing paper system?